Farmers' and Sportsmen's Conservation Club

Join the NRA - Freedom is Never FREE

2412 North 44th Street Sheboygan, WI 53083

Our Annual Hunter Education course starts in January.
These class's are of limited size and require pre-registration.

Farmers' and Sportsmen's Club of Sheboygan hosts a Hunter Education course each year in January and February on Monday's and Wednesday's from 6:30pm to 8:30pm to promote the safe use of firearms and the conservation of natural resources.

Farmers and Sportsmens Hunter Safety clases will be open for enrolment again in December 2014
Check back then for availablility for the January and February offering of the class


To check for class opening send an email to huntersafety@farmerssportsmens.org or check with the Wisconsin DNR for locations and open classes

State of Wisconsin Certified Instructors teach classes beginning in January and a second class in February.
The class lasts 2 weeks on Mondays and Wednesdays from 6:30pm - 8:30pm at our Sheboygan Clubhouse
All classes are mandatory including a field day.
The course is open to persons 12 and older.
Individuals with special needs must contact the lead instructor two weeks prior to the start of the course.

Wisconsin Hunting Regulations and Education:
Wisconsin law snippet:      Wisconsin - Small Hunting Game Regulations    
A parent or guardian (at least 18 years of age) must accompany hunters ages 12 and 13.
Accompany means within sight and voice contact without the aid of any mechanical or
electronic amplifying device other than a hearing aid. Persons under the age of 12 may
not hunt unless participating in a DNR Learn to Hunt event or the Hunting Mentorship
Program. Persons under age 18 may not possess firearms for non-hunting purposes
unless accompanied by an adult, except persons age 14-17 who have completed hunter
education can possess legal shotguns and rifles without being accompanied by an adult.

Hunter Safety StudentsIn Wisconsin, anyone born on or after January 1, 1973 must have completed a hunter education course and show the certificate to purchase a hunting license.

The hunter education course instills in students the knowledge, skill and attitude to be a responsible and safe hunter. The basic course consists of 10 lessons during a minimum of 10 hours. Students learn how hunting accidents are caused and how they can be prevented. Hunter responsibility and safety are stressed throughout the classes, which consist of lectures, demonstrations, group discussions, practical exercises, and individual study and activity assignments. Hunter education graduates receive a certificate that is accepted in every state, Canadian Province, and Mexico.

For Wisconsin residents, a Wisconsin certificate is valid in lieu of a small game hunting license from the date of issuance until March 31 of the following year. Also, any Wisconsin resident that graduates from the Wisconsin Hunter Education course for the first time may take an antlerless deer in the deer season immediately following graduation with the regular gun deer license. The antlerless deer must be tagged with a valid gun deer carcass tag, which the graduate must purchase.

To reduce the potential for hunting accidents, injuries and fatalities; to reduce the potential for conflict between hunters, landowners, and other resource users; and to promote safe, responsible, and ethical use of the environment and our resources.

  1. Our hunting heritage, hunting firearms, and equipment.
  2. Understanding firearms; basic safety rules for hunters and shooters.
  3. Proper care, cleaning, and storage of firearms and equipment.
  4. Marksmanship fundamentals.
  5. Responsibilities of hunters for our environment, wildlife, landowners, and others.
  6. Wildlife identification and habits. USGS Waterfowl Identification guide.
  7. Field care of harvested game.
  8. Handling outdoor emergencies.
  9. Wildlife management; law enforcement and the student's role in the future of hunting.
  10. How hunting accidents are caused and how they can be prevented.

Anyone of any age can take the class and receive a safety education completion certificate. However, it should be noted that persons younger than 12 may lose some of the benefits of the certification (small game hunting privilege, authorization to shoot an antler less deer during the first gun deer season after graduation) if they take the class sooner than age 12. The department encourages people to wait until they turn 12 within 6 months of completion of the course before taking it.

Minimum of 10 hours. May be longer depending on instructors.
The average length is 18 hours. Classes are held two evenings per week.

 

Farmers' and Sportsmen's Hunter Safety program has State of Wisconsin certified Instructors.
Classes are limited to 25 Students and fill quickly.
Class schedule varies, usually held twice a year, go to our Calendar page to check latest class schedule.
Students with special needs must contact the instructor two weeks in advance of the course to request special accommodations.

Completion of the class is celebrated with an opportunity to practice the safety skills learned in class on the Farmers' and Sportsmen's club shooting fields.

Comments to WEBmaster